Not joined yet? Register for free and enjoy features such as alerts, private messaging and viewing latest posts and topics.

All season tyres for the x6, or best summer for off road?

Discuss your latest mods or ideas, and anything to do with the X6 (E71).
Gib6933

All season tyres for the x6, or best summer for off road?

Post by Gib6933 » Sun Feb 19, 2017 11:39 am

Hi all I'm a newbie but I have had my x6 for over a year now.

I'm have trouble finding tyres for the x6 that are all season? I have the 19" wheels with 255 on the front and 285 on the rear.

I suppose I'm quite unusual in that I actually use the x6 off road. But a couple of time a month it has to drag its fat ass over a muddy field sometimes towing a couple of tonnes of hay/car/horse.

I will upload some photos in a bit.

X5Sport
Global Moderator
Global Moderator

Re: All season tyres for the x6, or best summer for off road?

Post by X5Sport » Sun Feb 19, 2017 12:33 pm

Hello and :hi:

I use Bridgestone Dueller in the Summer and Pirelli Scorpion in the winter.

You are strongly advised to only use tyres marked with an '*' on the sidewall.  These cars are not good off road in the muddier conditions, and use of other non'*' marked tyres runs an increased risk of shattering either a differential or transfer box.  Both are expensive repairs!  This is much more important on staggered wheel set-ups such as you have.

Use of the more 'agricultural' tread patterns will break the transmission.  You need to monitor the tread depth variations front to rear, and if possible change all the tyres as a set.  Wide tread depth variance is also implicated in failures!

It should not be an issue if the design was right, but we are seeing more and more reports of transmission breaking and tyres seem to play a significant role in that.  It doesn't always happen, but when it does  :o

The X6 rear diff is a clever electronically controlled variable torque-split unit and they are very expensive!