Not joined yet? Register for free and enjoy features such as alerts, private messaging and viewing latest posts and topics.

2002 3.0d sport - Transmission loss

Discuss the problems with your X5 (E53).
h9kgh

2002 3.0d sport - Transmission loss

Post by h9kgh » Tue Oct 26, 2010 8:38 pm

Another newbie here, was recommended by a fellow forum member.
Looking for some help on the above, my wife was out in her 5 on Friday, came home and said she "thought" the gears were "sluggish/hesitant in going up through the box".
I took it out, drove it about 15 miles it was fine, was almost back home when up popped "Trans Failsafe Mode",i managed to struggle home, stopped at the bottom of my drive, popped her into park, then nothing couldn`t get any gears in drive, reverse, manual etc. Switched off/ then on again, then managed to get forward.
Went out on Saturday, no warning messages appear now but forward/reverse only last for a couple of minutes, then nothing, justs revs as high as you let it.
Until now there has been no sign of sluggish or slipping gear changes, no noises etc, no loss of reverse, vehicle has done 92,000 miles with full history, and has not long had an inspection 1 service completed by BMW.
Went back to it on Sunday, completely looses transmission now after 60 seconds, at one point i did notice a very loud clicking noise when no transmission, sounded like it was coming from the underside of the tranny.
Managed to get my hands on a diagnostics machine, "Transmission Codes" as;
55 Gear Monitering 5
53 Gear Monitering 3
notes;
Battery Volts 11.9
Soleniod Valve 1 - Inactive
Soleniod Valve 2 - Active
Soleniod Valve 3 - Inactive (Active for the short spell i get transmission)
Clutch Convertor - Inactive? (no matter what we did this remains inactive)
"Instrumentation Codes"
31 - EBV
08 - Tank Level Sensor 1
09 - Tank Level Sensor 2
21 - Int. Error Instrument Panel
11 - TCM Signal Error or Limp Mode
"Engine Codes" (notes)
p1613 engine stabillity controller