Not joined yet? Register for free and enjoy features such as alerts, private messaging and viewing latest posts and topics.

Rear air suspension issues

Discuss the problems with your BMW X5 (E70).
Liamkel

Post by Liamkel » Tue May 29, 2018 8:36 am

I've searched the forum and the Internet and can't seem to find a definitive answer to cover my problem. Last week my rear suspension dropped on both sides and wouldn't rises, then a couple of days later it would rise (I presumed airbags) but now it won't rise at all and it's been a few days now. I had a look at the air bags yesterday but with there being no air in them I struggled to check for leaks, I also stripped the under casing off and got to the compressor, no cable damage to the air feeds on either end but the compressor isn't doing anything. I started the car and it doesn't make a sound or vibrate or anything, it just shudders with the cars general engine vibrations. Should the compressor be making a noise?? I'm a relative newbie to mechanics, I have no problem in changing the air bags or compressor myself but don't know the indepth mechanics knowledge of what these working parts should be acting like. It seems to me maybe the airbags have gone and now the compressor has packed in as a result but don't want to jump the gun on buying and fitting a new compressor if you guys think there could be another possible answer. I've seen talk of the valve block which would make sense with both sides dropping at the same time, but i'm unsure. Any help will be appreciated so I can get any jobs done this weekend.

The cars a 58 plate, E70. Just hit 100k

Cheers
Last edited by Liamkel on Tue May 29, 2018 8:40 am, edited 1 time in total.

X5Sport
Global Moderator
Global Moderator

Re: Rear air suspension issues

Post by X5Sport » Tue May 29, 2018 9:46 am