Not joined yet? Register for free and enjoy features such as alerts, private messaging and viewing latest posts and topics.

Transfer Box Judder

Discuss the problems with your BMW X5 (E70).
martins8585

Transfer Box Judder

Post by martins8585 » Mon Feb 08, 2021 1:03 pm

Hi - on my 2012 E70, 100k on the clock I'm getting the dreaded transfer box judder at low speeds when there's some lock on.

I'm now on 4 brand new * marked tyres though did run on non * marked Michelin's for a while. (I know it was naughty but those Cross Climates really are very good......)

There seems to be a lot of urban myths around this with everything from a full transfer case rebuild to an oil change being suggested. (or even software resets??)

I'm not a home mechanic so everything will be done by a garage so does anyone have any experience of what they've done that actually worked?

Cheers

approved

Re: Transfer Box Judder

Post by approved » Mon Feb 08, 2021 1:12 pm

I changed the tyres first, which marginally improved the situation. Them changed the fluid and reset the adaptions and it seems to have solved the problem for me.

I decided to do the gearbox and diffs as well, as a additional preventative measure.

martins8585

Post by martins8585 » Mon Feb 08, 2021 1:30 pm

Thanks - anyone else with experience of this?

approved

Post by approved » Mon Feb 08, 2021 1:34 pm

I’d add, i don’t know if Its solved the problem or I’ve just kicked it down to road for a bit but the improvement is massive ( or was in my case) with the removal of all symptoms

it only costs about £100 to do so it’s a no brainer as a starting point.

Alan Gunn
Snr Member
Snr Member

Post by Alan Gunn » Tue Feb 09, 2021 6:27 am

Fluid change and adaption reset is worth a try and shouldn't cost much if done by your local bmw indi.

Leslie
Snr Member
Snr Member

Post by Leslie » Tue Feb 09, 2021 11:15 am