Torque settings for wheel nuts

mark hamster 28
Member
Member
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 212
Joined: Fri May 23, 2014 9:45 pm

Torque settings for wheel nuts

Wed Nov 28, 2018 9:20 pm

Hi all, going to be fitting some winter wheels (nice ones off a top bloke, forum member) 18" to my F15 3.0D sport this weekend with help from my friend who is a mechanic. He has asked me to find out what size the wheels nuts/bolts are and what torque you tighten them up to please. I checked nuts/bolts size which is 17 but no idea on torque ?? guess its ok to use the ones coming off my 20" staggered set up is ok for the 18" non staggered.
Thanks in advance
dazzasgotav8
Newbie
Newbie
Location: the west country
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2018 10:39 pm

Re: Torque settings for wheel nuts

Wed Nov 28, 2018 9:56 pm

i torque my wheelnuts upto 160nm on my e53 :thumbsup:
bobgolden
Member
Member
Location: Yorkshire
Posts: 128
Joined: Sat May 10, 2014 12:27 pm

Re: Torque settings for wheel nuts

Thu Nov 29, 2018 1:17 am

Mark,

I found what purports to be a definitive answer that states 140 nm but it then goes on to quote the tyre pressures incorrectly (35 PSI) so I’d err on the cautious side and try and blag the values off a friendly dealer if they’re not in the handbook.

Cheers,

Rob.
User avatar
X5Sport
Lifer
Lifer
Location: Planet X6......
Posts: 16111
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 4:09 pm

Re: Torque settings for wheel nuts

Thu Nov 29, 2018 6:51 am

140Nm+/-10Nm is the stated limit in the BMW Technical Instructions..

Overtightening can either stretch the bolts or damage (crack) the holes in the alloys.
:ant: Never anthropomorphise computers. They hate that.
Image
User avatar
pvr
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 5208
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2010 5:13 pm

Re: Torque settings for wheel nuts

Thu Nov 29, 2018 11:35 am

Yep, 140 Nm
User avatar
gmc15
Member
Member
Location: Durham
Posts: 340
Joined: Sat Aug 21, 2010 3:39 am

Re: Torque settings for wheel nuts

Thu Nov 29, 2018 12:57 pm

I do 140 Nm for the studs but 130Nm for the locking wheel nut so they don't get seized on.
User avatar
pvr
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 5208
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2010 5:13 pm

Re: Torque settings for wheel nuts

Thu Nov 29, 2018 2:04 pm

Excellent point. It was an expensive "repair" to get those off !!
Leslie
Member
Member
Posts: 142
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2018 10:58 am

Re: Torque settings for wheel nuts

Thu Nov 29, 2018 9:03 pm

I actually torqued mine up properly to 140nm this week myself at the tyre shop after the tyre fitters put them on with an airgun last time and I could barely get them off and thought my extending wrench had split the socket in 2 such was the crack it gave when they undid and they were only on a month or so so not seized on.The locking nuts always get less as they are easily damaged if they are on /off too often .
dazzasgotav8
Newbie
Newbie
Location: the west country
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2018 10:39 pm

Re: Torque settings for wheel nuts

Thu Nov 29, 2018 9:17 pm

i stand corrected and will be redoing my nuts at the weekend to 140 nm , just looked in my handbook and it to says 140 nm :thumbsup:
mark hamster 28
Member
Member
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 212
Joined: Fri May 23, 2014 9:45 pm

Re: Torque settings for wheel nuts

Fri Nov 30, 2018 12:25 am

thanks all 140 it is and great tip gmc15 for locking wheel nut, most appreciated :)
User avatar
X5Sport
Lifer
Lifer
Location: Planet X6......
Posts: 16111
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 4:09 pm

Re: Torque settings for wheel nuts

Fri Nov 30, 2018 7:12 am

Leslie wrote:
Thu Nov 29, 2018 9:03 pm
I actually torqued mine up properly to 140nm this week myself at the tyre shop after the tyre fitters put them on with an airgun last time and I could barely get them off and thought my extending wrench had split the socket in 2 such was the crack it gave when they undid and they were only on a month or so so not seized on.The locking nuts always get less as they are easily damaged if they are on /off too often .
Had that a couple of times in the past and place I use now only used a torque wrench the finalise and a low power electric gun to do the first bit.
:ant: Never anthropomorphise computers. They hate that.
Image

Return to “General X5 Forum (F15)”