Upgraded to the F15

Perry
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2020 1:03 pm

Upgraded to the F15

Mon Jun 22, 2020 5:37 pm

Hello,
Having had a E70 SE for four years I have treated myself to a F15 3.0 M Sport (2016).
A bit like chalk and cheese, but I'm very impressed with the new car.
Does any one know where (other than going to BMW) where I can get the torque settings for the wheel nuts?
User avatar
X5Sport
Lifer
Lifer
Location: Planet X6......
Posts: 16861
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 4:09 pm

Re: Upgraded to the F15

Mon Jun 22, 2020 6:15 pm

Newtis.info should have it. Copy of the BMW Service manuals on line. Treasure trove of data.

I think BMW use 140Nm.
Last edited by X5Sport on Mon Jun 22, 2020 6:18 pm, edited 2 times in total.
:ant: Never anthropomorphise computers. They hate that.
Leslie
Member
Member
Posts: 513
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2018 10:58 am

Re: Upgraded to the F15

Mon Jun 22, 2020 6:17 pm

140nm I believe should be in the handbook.
Perry
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2020 1:03 pm

Re: Upgraded to the F15

Tue Jun 23, 2020 10:16 am

Thanks for that, I did look in the manual but couldn't find it
User avatar
gmc15
Member
Member
Location: Durham
Posts: 374
Joined: Sat Aug 21, 2010 3:39 am

Re: Upgraded to the F15

Tue Jun 23, 2020 12:52 pm

I torque the locking wheel studs slightly less than 140Nm, to avoid them getting stuck as they can be a pain to remove.
Perry
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2020 1:03 pm

Re: Upgraded to the F15

Tue Jun 23, 2020 1:34 pm

I assume that my 18" wheels from my E70 will not fit onto the F15 with 19" wheels?
sid10
Member
Member
Posts: 762
Joined: Tue Sep 24, 2013 2:24 pm

Re: Upgraded to the F15

Tue Jun 23, 2020 3:41 pm

Hi depends on which model you bought ? Rdci valves ? the E70 wheels were et48 all round F15 has et37 fronts and et21 on M sport models . Se versions have et48 all round and are usually a square set up .
Perry
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2020 1:03 pm

Re: Upgraded to the F15

Wed Jun 24, 2020 11:16 am

Hello Sid,
Thanks for that, yes the tyres have Rdci valves and I did notice that it has different tyre sizes.
So I don't think they will fit.
mark hamster 28
Member
Member
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 233
Joined: Fri May 23, 2014 9:45 pm

Re: Upgraded to the F15

Thu Jun 25, 2020 9:47 am

Perry wrote:
Tue Jun 23, 2020 1:34 pm
I assume that my 18" wheels from my E70 will not fit onto the F15 with 19" wheels?
hi and welcome...Had my F15 almost 3 years now and after its had its BIG service and MOT in sept I'm possibly looking at selling, which means I will be selling my winter alloys I bought off another member on this group who bought new which has 18" star rated run flat tyres with5.5 mm on all tyres and the alloys and valves are original from Sytner's so it talks to your car and reads tyre PSI, just a heads up :D
Perry
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2020 1:03 pm

Re: Upgraded to the F15

Fri Jun 26, 2020 10:18 am

Hello Mark,
Thanks for the heads up, but as I only used my winter tyres a couple of times since I brought them ( we don't get that much snow/cold weather down South!).
I think I will go a long the lines of using snow socks.
Cheers
Perry
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2020 1:03 pm

Re: Upgraded to the F15

Sat Jun 27, 2020 7:19 pm

AdBlue- Any suggestions where to get an AdBlue adaptor other than at a BMW dealer? (I'm in no rush I have a 1000 miles to go) :D
Wayfarer
Member
Member
Posts: 109
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2018 7:07 pm

Re: Upgraded to the F15

Sat Jun 27, 2020 8:31 pm

Not sure what the adapter is?
I either use a funnel or the last couple of times I have just asked my local BMW dealer to top it whilst I was there.
mark hamster 28
Member
Member
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 233
Joined: Fri May 23, 2014 9:45 pm

Re: Upgraded to the F15

Sun Jun 28, 2020 2:38 pm

Perry wrote:
Fri Jun 26, 2020 10:18 am
Hello Mark,
Thanks for the heads up, but as I only used my winter tyres a couple of times since I brought them ( we don't get that much snow/cold weather down South!).
I think I will go a long the lines of using snow socks.
Cheers
Yes I understand.... I've had mine now for last 2 winters and I think they seen snow on 1 day lol :roll:
mark hamster 28
Member
Member
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 233
Joined: Fri May 23, 2014 9:45 pm

Re: Upgraded to the F15

Sun Jun 28, 2020 2:45 pm

I've topped my adblue up twice now, 1st time I got some from Sytners and the 2nd time from a shell petrol station.! It has a plastic lip that you just pull up and then it screws into the bottle, also last time mine was around 1000 miles before refill, a fault came up, it was winter time as well and this group advised me not to let it run to empty.! when car restarted up, it has been fine ever since.!
User avatar
X5Sport
Lifer
Lifer
Location: Planet X6......
Posts: 16861
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 4:09 pm

Re: Upgraded to the F15

Sun Jun 28, 2020 3:41 pm

You can get a small container with the correct adapter from Amazon if necessary. I bought one a few years back to top the Škoda up (that used three times more than my F46 with the same sized engine does!). I just transfer from a 10L container to this and that’s it.

No forecourts around here have AdBlue tanks/pumps, and I’m not paying Dealer prices for it.

One of these: https://smile.amazon.co.uk/GreenChem-Ad ... 171&sr=8-3
:ant: Never anthropomorphise computers. They hate that.

Return to “General X5 Forum (F15)”